If you would like to drive in fl, you will need a florida drivers license. If you are under 18 and are not married, your license application must be signed by a parent or legal guardian. Knowledge exam 50 multiple choice questions about traffic laws and traffic signs. I thought this would certainly be a good deal for an additional. Department of homeland security effort to apply consistent security measures and issuance standards across all state. The florida legislature passed a law over the summer that changed how dui suspensions go into effect for some firsttime offenders. Required 50 hours of supervised driving, 10 of which must be at night. The last time florida drivers licenses were redesigned was in 2003. Register for your permit exam or datatlsae course below.
Floridas new drivers license and identification card design rolls out in august. Types of licenses how to apply knowledge test road test replace or renew new residents. As of january 1st, 2010, there are new documentation requirements for residents renewing or obtaining a new drivers license or identification card. Bakofsky said planning for the new ids started in 2014, and input was gathered from groups representing interests that spanned from law. Only us citizens who are residents of new york can apply for a new york state edl.
Click here to simplify and find all the details for your renewal in the stepbystep process. General information florida department of highway safety. What to bring florida department of highway safety and. Drivers in these zones shouldnt hold the phone up to their ear, type anything on their screen, or even hold their phone to read their gps. New florida drivers licenses feature enhanced security nbc 6. Florida drivers license renewal new application update. Driver license information florida department of highway safety. The fee is added to the other fees for the driver license or nondriver id transaction. Florida has specific identification requirements that you must meet in order to get a drivers license.
Drivers license for out of state drivers how to get your florida drivers license. Floridas new driver license and id card florida department of. Law enforcement officials and tax collectors from across the state. Florida law requires the dhsmv to collect certain personal information during the. Applying for a new florida drivers license or passenger permit the state of florida requires you renew your drivers license upon expiration. A new resident exchanging a valid outofstate driver license for a florida driver license will be required to pass the vision and hearing tests only. Florida drivers license information and id requirements drivers. Previous driver license and id cards will still be in use alongside the new. In addition, you must obtain insurance from a florida insurance agent that is licensed to sell insurance in florida in order to title and register your vehicles, vessels, and mobile homes within 10 days of establishing residency. If you have a valid drivers license from another us state it can be exchanged for a florida drivers license.
Starting in august 2017, the florida department of highway safety and motor vehicles began issuing a new, more secure florida driver license and id card. As part of the real id act, there are documentation requirements for residents renewing or obtaining a new driver license or id card. Licensing requirements for teens, graduated driver license laws. Beginning may 2019, the department began issuing modified credentials removing.
New florida drivers licenses are starting to roll out with enhanced security features that the states dmv says are the most secure. New florida drivers licenses and new security features coming. That addition a raised bump will aid law enforcement officers and others. The state of florida has a graduated drivers license system, allowing new drivers time to experience various. For the first inoffice issuance after january 1, 2010, customers must bring original documents that validate their identity, social security number ssn and residential address. Adults 18 and over either moving to florida or a resident bypass the gdl program though do need to pass certain, similar requirements and paperwork florida has four main interstate and eight secondary highways. That means a lot of new drivers showing up at the local dmv offices. In florida you start with a learners permit then get a class e drivers license. Florida law requires that you destroy your old driver license after receiving the new license. Specifically, the law allows drivers who have no prior dui arrests to request immediately a hardship license and avoid. The collier county tax collector, assumed responsibility for the driver license operation in collier county. The state of florida allows 5 total attempts to pass the permit test, 3 of which can be online. A valid drivers license from another us state may be. In 2017, licenses and state identification cards debuted with a new look and.
Florida uses a graduated driver licensing program helping teens begin the process of getting their drivers license at age 15. What to bring florida department of highway safety and motor. Converting your out of state drivers license to a florida. New florida drivers licenses and new security features. A valid drivers license from another us state may be exchanged for a florida drivers. Floridas gdl laws are designed to help teens gradually and safely build their skills.
Drivers licenses with fresh new look arrive in south florida south. Id requirements to obtain a florida drivers license are now more strict read the id requirements. By december 2017, the new credential became available at all service centers throughout florida and online. These laws outline limits and restrictions for new drivers ages 15 through 17. Individuals are only required to replace their current driver license or id card if their current credential has reached its expiration or a required change is needed, such as a name or address change. New florida drivers license cards include security. As a new florida resident, you must obtain a valid florida driver license within 30 days of establishing residency to drive on florida roads. By florida law, if you have a drivers license from another state you need to obtain a florida drivers license within 30 days of residency at a local dmv office.
By florida law, if you have a drivers license from another state you need to obtain a florida drivers license within 30 days of residency at a local dmv office id requirements to obtain a florida drivers license are now more strict read the id requirements. For each one, theres also a corresponding type of instruction permit. Licensing requirements for teens, graduated driver license. If you already have a current out of state drivers license you may be able to convert your license to a florida drivers license without taking any tests. A new look is coming to florida drivers licenses and id cards with new. New florida drivers license and id cards those classified as sexual predators under florida law will have the words sexual predator printed in blue letters on the front of the license. Depending on where you are moving from your valid drivers license may be directly exchanged for a florida drivers license. If a law enforcement sees a driver breaking this new law, they may issue a citation. Renewing your florida drivers license in florida, anyone who has never been issued a drivers license must. A person may not have more than one valid driver license at any time. The official florida driver license handbook florida drivers. Florida drivers licenses see more changes wusf news. Florida highway safety and motor vehicles if you renewed your license, you may notice it looks different from.279 531 655 319 1617 1324 733 1589 1230 1191 39 515 941 1660 969 370 618 316 449 692 508 1456 482 982 287 1306 693 1566 92 881 907 869 99 905 355 149 1040 26 1002 49